Junior Hurling Championship Final - Report 2015-09-15 18:44:00

St Brigids 1-13 O’Tooles 0-15

Brigids win thriller in O'Toole Park to claim Championship Glory!

An enthralling encounter, on an ideal sunny September evening for hurling in O’Toole Park. It’s what the club scene in Dublin is all about and as the final whistle blew in front of a large crowd, it was the Brigids men who celebrated as it they who came out on top on a score line of 1-13 to 0-15 against a resilient O’Tooles side.

A gripping 70 minutes, saw the sides never separated by more than four points, but crucially it was Brigids who were always in front with midfielder Stephen Moore opening the scoring after a fine run. The accuracy of the three free takers on show was commendable, with St Brigids Kieran O Sullivan amassing 1-07 (0-06 from frees) while O’Tooles goalkeeper Dean Farrell scored 0-06 from placed balls and Keith Horgan scoring 0-07, with 0-06 coming from close range frees.  Indeed over the 70 minutes O’Tooles would only claim a solitary point from play as their over-reliance on Horgan and Farrell would prove telling in the closing stages.

The sides were separated by two points at the break 0-10 to 0-08 with Macdara Butler, Moore and his midfield partner Seanie Keegan on target again. As the tension grew, the first goal gained greater and greater significance with every passing minute and tellingly it was Brigids who got it on the 49th minute. Fine interplay from Costigan, Thynne and Moore left Sullivan with plenty to do on the 21 but his bullet of a shot flew past a helpless Leonard into the roof of the net.  For the first time in the game there was now clear day-light between the sides as Brigids now lead by four, yet the contest was far from over. A superb side-line cut from Conor White, his second of the game, brought O’Tooles back to within touching distance before Horgan pointed again.

Brigids would not be denied, however, as telling blocks from David Greville, Fergal Counihan and John Hanley saw the Russell Park men over the line after a pulsating battle.

St Brigids: Kieran Cahill, David Brooks, Joey Jordan, John Hanley, Brian Smyth, Macdara Butler (0-02), Eoin Mulvihill, Sean Keegan (0-01), Stephen Moore (0-02), Kieran Sullivan (1-07, 0-06 frees), Dave Kennedy, Fergal Counihan, Ronan Dunne (0-01), Keith Morris, Eoin Thynne.

Subs; David Greville for Joey Jordan, JP Costigan for Keith Morris, Keith Fox for Dave Kennedy, Alan Thynne for Eoin Thynne.

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15