AHL 5 Hurlers Finish League Campaign in Style Defeating O Tooles 2013-10-07 16:21:00


St Brigids 2-17 O Tooles 1-10

Our newly crowned AHL 5 League Champions finished off their season in style with a brilliant second half display as they powered past O Tooles, 2-17 to 1-10 in Russell Park on Sunday afternoon.

Just a solitary point ahead a break, the home side fought well against a stiff breeze to led 1-06 to 0-08, Macdara Butler with a long range effort that was misjudged by the O Tooles keeper for Brigids opening goal while the Morris brothers and Kieran O Sullivan claimed the points from play.

The second half was a different affair, one which Brigids dominated from the throw in. A fine individual goal from Keith Fox as well as points from JP Costigan, O Sullivan and the returning Badger O Halloran, who missed the majority of the season through injury, saw the Brigids men steamroll to victory.

A late O Tooles goal did little to dampen the Brigids spirits as injured Captain Seamus Lynam collected the League Winners trophy after the game. Well done to all the panel as well as Mickey O Sullivan and Albert O Reilly on a great season. The lads can now look forward to Saturday evening hurling in 2014 once again!

St Brigids: Kieran Cahill, John Hanley, Glen Markey, Willie Tyrell, Damien Fitzsimmons, Macdara Butler (1-01), Brian Mulcahy, Stephen Moore, Mick Galvin, JP Costigan (0-02), Keith Fox (1-01), Kieran O Sullivan (0-07), Conor Morris (0-02), Keith Morris (0-02), Eoin Thynne (0-01).

Subs: Brendan Badger O Halloran (0-01) for Eoin Thynne, Cormac O Meara for John Hanley.

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15