League Champions - Brilliant Brigids Battle Past Ballinteer 2013-09-21 16:00:00

St Brigids 0-20 Ballinteer 2-07

Our AHL 5 Hurlers produced a battling all round team display to see off Ballinteer St John 0-20 to 2-07 on Friday night and in doing so, they collected the two points they needed to be crowned  league champions as well as sealing a return to Intermediate league hurling for 2014.

A keenly contested and skillful battle throughout begin with Brigids taking a early led with points from JP Costigan, Kieran O Sullivan and Brendan Lyng before a Ballinteer goal drew the sides level after 20 minutes.  Unfazed, the home side soon regrouped a led 0-09 to 1-03 at the break after points from the Morris brothers and Eoin O Brien.

It wasnt long until Brigids stretched their led further with Stephen Moore, Seamus Lynam and Brendan Lyng dominating the middle third they supplied O Sullivan and Butler to score before Lyng himself chipped in with an outrageous point from the side line stretching the led out to six with 15 minutes to go. However, Ballinteer goaled again from a 21 yard free to inject new life back into the game and following another pointed free moments later the gap was down to two with five minutes to go.

But once again Brigids showed why they were champions elect as five unanswered points in the final minutes sealed victory, two coming from the enigmatic Willie Madden who certainly made his presence felt in the final crucial minutes.

Well done to the whole squad and to Mickey O Sullivan and Albert O Reilly on a great league season. They face O Tooles in their final league game in Russell Pk in two weeks time, where they will be presented with the league trophy. 

St Brigids: Kieran Cahill, John Hanley, Glen Markey, Willie Tyrell, Brian Mulcahy, Macdara Butler (0-02), Keith Fox, Brendan Lyng (0-04), Stephen Moore, JP Costigan (0-02), Seamus Lynam, Kieran O Sullivan (0-04), Conor Morris (0-02) Keith Morris (0-02), Eoin O Brien (0-02).

Subs: Willie Madden (0-02) for Keith Morris, Mickey McDonnell for Brendan Lyng, Philip Daly for John Hanley, Mick Galvin for Brian Mulcahy.

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15