Senior Hurlers Claim AHL 2 League Title 2014-10-13 19:01:00

AHL 2 St Brigids 1-18 Setanta 1-14

St Brigids Senior Hurlers secured an immediate return to AHL 1 after a 12 month absence following their 1-18 to 1-14 win over Setanta on Saturday evening in Russell Park. Played in glorious autumnal sunshine in front of a large home crowd, the home side signalled their intent early on with excellent points from captain Daire Plunkett and corner forward Dara Doyle. However, Setanta who are fighting to retain their AHL 2 status proved admiral adversaries and had reduced the margin to only 5 at the break, 0-12 to 0-07.

The key moment of the game arrived just after the break as Doyle broke onto a fine cross-field pass from Dave Smyth before rifling the ball into the far top corner of the net. This gave the home side a comfortable nine point lead and while the Ballymun men once again clawed their way back into proceedings time was not on their side and it was Brigids who ran out four point winners. It was fine way for outgoing manager Ger Ryan to end his 3 year Brigids tenure after a disappointing Championship exit to Faughs in September. Thanks to Ger, Liam and Cian for all their hard work over the past 3 seasons, the highlight of which was a brilliant 2013 Championship run which saw the lads narrowly lose out to eventual 2013 SHC winners Ballyboden in a close fought semi final. 

St Brigids: Alan Nolan, Mick Cussen, Sean Brady, Brendan McEnerney, Aodhan McEnerney, Mark Kavanagh (0-01), Ciaran Dolan (0-01), Daire Plunkett (0-03), C. Doyle, P. Winters (0-03), Pat Rohan (0-01), Paddy McAvinue (0-05), Dara Doyle (1-02), John O Loughlin (0-02), Dave Smyth.

Subs used: Ruairi Dunbar for Pat Rohan, Brendan Lyng for Dave Smyth, Luke Purtill for Dara Doyle, Ciaran Kellett for Paddy McAvinue.

Back Row (L-R) Ger Ryan, Tim O Mahony, Luke Purtill, Mick Cusen, Ruairi Dunbar, Pat Rohan, John O Loughlin, Kieran Cahill, Paddy McAvinue, Aodhan McEnerney, Ciaran Dolan, Paul Winters, Mark Kavanagh, Dave Smyth, Dara Doyle, Ciaran Kellet, Liam Plunkett.

Front Row (L-R) Cian O Mahony, Brendan Lyng, Alan Nolan, Cathal Doyle, Daire Plunkett, Bren McEnerney, Seán Brady.

Missing from photo: Kieran Sullivan, Ross Mullins, Conor Morris, Conor Ryan, Conor Woodgate, David Fraine, Aidan O Leary, Karl Rogers.

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15