Minor A Hurlers Crowned Championship Winners 2014-11-17 18:45:00

Minor Hurlers

Minor B Hurling Championship Final

St Brigids 1-17 Thomas Davis 0-09

St Brigids Minor A Hurlers were crowned Minor B champions after a brilliant win over Thomas Davis in Sancta Maria on Sunday afternoon. Brigids started the brighter with Cian O Sullivan scoring a couple of points to ease the nerves of the Russell Pk men. The first half was very much about good free taking as most of the scores for both sides in the first half came from frees. At the break Brigids were leading 0-08 to 0-06.

D Fraine

Brigids started the second half strongly with Kevin Callaghan getting some wonderful early scores. The turning point of the game came when O Sullivan went on a sole run weaving in and out of Davis defenders before slotting the ball past the Davis keeper. With ten minutes Brigids were reduced to 14 men but this was not going to stop this bunch of lads, as scores from Luke Purtill and Johnny McGuirk Jnr made sure that Brigids would run out victorious. Credit must go to the defence and David Fraine in particular, who managed to keep Thomas Davis from scoring from play for the whole game. It was a great end to the year for the Minors and for their manager Johnny McGuirk Snr who is going on to manage the Dublin Minor hurlers next year. We want to wish him all the best with that and to thank all the management for a great year.

Minor Hurling Mentors

St Brigids: M. Courtney, C. Breslin, O. Finnerty, J. O Neill, C. Galvin, D. Fraine (Cpt), D. Ryan, S. Donnelly, S. O Malley, J. McGuirk (0-03), L. Purtill (0-03), K. Callaghan (0-06), M. Donnelly, T. Branagan, C. O Sullivan (1-05).

Subs used: D. McKenna, J. Hendrick, K. Keogh, T. O Shea, R. O Connor.

IMG_3482 IMG_3478

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15