Minor A Footballers Seal Championship With Win Over Clontarf 2015-01-27 13:57:00

Minor B Football Championship Final

St Brigids 3-07 Clontarf 1-08

St Brigids Minors secured a remarkable hurling and football championship double as their footballers claimed championship glory on a score line of 3-07 to 1-08 against Clontarf in Sundays delayed 2014 final in Chanel.

The Russell Park men led for almost the entire game after Johnny McGuirks 8th minute goal set them on their way as they faced a strong breeze in the opening half. A second goal soon followed and was unquestionably the score of the game. A 40 yards cross-field pass from centre forward Kevin Callaghan set Donal Timoney free and the young wing forward made no mistake slotting the ball past the onrushing Clontarf goalkeeper.

However, Brigids would not have it all their own way and a quick-fire 1-02 from Clontarf just before half time saw the sides separated by only 3 points, 2-03 to 1-03.

minor final 2

As in the first half, however, it was Brigids who got their scores at the crucial times in the second period. Early points from Timoney, Campbell, McGuirk and a goal from full forward Michael Courtney pushed Anto Hollys men 8 clear with 10 to play. Once again Clontarf, to their credit, responded and had reduced the deficit to 5 as the game entered its final stages.

However, in Alex Holmes St Brigids have themselves a quality young goalkeeper as his two late saves prevented any late Clontarf revival. Indeed the Brigids backline had some superb performers on the day with David Fraine, Jack Mullins and Conor Browne particularly impressive.

The win sees Brigids Minors claim an historic Hurling and Football double after their hurlers claimed their Championship title in November!

St Brigids; A. Holmes, C. Browne, D. Fraine, C. Calvin, S. O Malley, J. Mullins, D. Ryan (0-01), L. Campbell (0-01), D. McKenna, D. Timoney (1-04), K. Callaghan, M. Donnelly, J. McGuirk (1-02), M. Courtney (1-00), M Tighe.

Subs used; J O Neill for C. Browne, O. Finnerty for M. Donnelly, G.McCabe for J. McGuirk, J. Henry for K. Callaghan, C. McCarthy for M.Tighe.

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15