Young and Old Battle in Unison as Junior Hurlers beat Na Fianna 2012-08-15 10:54:00

Young and Old Battle in Unison as Junior Hurlers beat Na Fianna in Championship

Junior C Championship Play Off - St Brigids 1-20 Na Fianna 3-07 (after extra time)

A superb all round team performance from our Junior hurlers saw them defeat Na Fianna in this winner takes all championship relegation play-off played on Tuesday evening in Molbi Road. It was a team of young and the not so young that battled to the end as teenagers just out of minor played with club veterans twice their age! Having already played Na Fianna twice already this season, losing on both occasions by the narrowest of margins, the team knew that the odds were not in our favour. However, a massive effort on the part of every player on the panel eventually swung the tie in favour of the Russell Park men, although they were forced to do it the hard way.

Brigids were ahead by a point entering the final minute of normal time before Na Fianna squared the game to force extra time. Despite, the set back the visitors would not be denied and their hard physical training since February final told to telling effect as they pulled away in the second period of extra time.

Brigids had many outstanding players on the night but special mention has to go to the full back unit of Tim O Leary, Cian O Doherty, Dave Grogan and Damien Fitzsimmons as well as Neil Plunkett who hit eight points from frees. With their championship safety now guaranteed, the lads can now focus on their battle to win the league. Well done to all and keep up the good work!

St Brigids; Timmy O Leary, Cian O Doherty, Damien Fitzsimmons, Dave Grogan, Ronan McKenna, Stephen Sulamni. Cian Ryan, Eoin Mulville, Rory Dunne, Maurice Sweeney, James Campbell, Neil Plunkett, Brian Condron, Noel Kidd, James O Reilly.

Subs: Mark Ryan for James Campbell, Oisin Kelly for Dave Grogan, Brendan Farrell for Noel Kidd, Chris Boyle for Brian Condron.

Scorers: Neil Plunkett 0-08, Maurice Sweeney 1-02, James O Reilly 0-03, Eoin Mulville 0-02, Brian Condron, Chris Boyle, Mark Ryan, Cian Ryan and Noel Kidd 0-01 each.

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15