Nolan Bullet Seals Senior Hurlers Place in Division One for 2012 2012-02-17 17:07:00

St Brigids 1-13 Na Fianna 0-10

An unstoppable penalty from St Brigids and Dublin goalkeeper Alan Nolan midway through the second half proved to be the decisive score, as St Brigids maintained their AHL 1 status for the 2012 season following a 1-13 to 0-10 win over Na Fianna on Wednesday evening. Played on the excellent surface in Alfie Byrne Road, the Castleknock men started the brighter of the two sides, and following scores from Jamie Winters and Brendan McEnerney it was they who lead 0-06 to 0-04 at the interval.

Realising the defeat would mean relegation to Division 2, Na Fianna burst out of the blocks at the beginning of the second half and four unanswered points saw the Molbi Road men storm into a two point lead for the first time in the game. Points were then traded before a John O'Loughlin point and a monstrous free from man of the match Aodhan McEnerney left Na Fianna ahead by the narrowest of margins with 15 minutes left on the clock.

The Russell Park men finally took total control of proceedings and two well taken scores from Dublin Star Daire Plunkett, the second from all of 80 yards saw Brigids back into the lead. Then came a crucial moment in the game, as Kieran Kellett(above) expertly latched onto a through ball before begin hauled down as he bore down on goal. Alan Nolan made the long trip up from his goal to take the penalty, which he duly buried in the net. Brigids were now 4 points up with the game entering its final 5 minutes and two insurance points from Aodhan McEnerney, one coming after excellent work by Joey O Callaghan, deservedly sealed Brigids status in Dublin?s premier league for another season.

Half Time: St Brigids 0-06 Na Fianna 0-04

St, Brigids: 1. Alan Nolan(1-0 pen), 2. Mick Cussen, 3. Conor Kenny, 4. Sean Brady, 5. Conor Morris, 6. Aodhan McEnerney (0-5 3f), 7. Aidan O' Leary, 8. Cathal Doyle, 9. Willie Tyrell, 10. Daire Plunkett (0-2), 11. John O'Loughlin (0-3 1f), 12. Brendan McEnerney (0-1), 13. Daire Doyle, 14.Jamie Winters (0-1f), 15. Kieran Kellett (0-1).

St Brigids GAA Club,
Russell Park, Navan Road, Dublin 15